Skip to primary navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Board of Directors


The Trust is dedicated to preserving Bannerman Castle as an educational, cultural, historical, and recreational facility that promotes heritage tourism in the Hudson Valley.  To that end, we aim to coordinate resources and funding to stabilize the structures on Pollepel Island so that the island is a safe and lasting destination for public tours and special events.  We are also responsible for arranging public tours of the island each year. We maintain docks, trails, and gardens. We conduct other special projects (for example, preparation of Historic Structures Reports to document the history of the Castle) under the purview of the NYSOPRHP.

a close up of a snow covered mountain

Executive Director and Founder

Neil Caplan
Realtor and co-owner of the Swann Inn in Beacon, NY.

Board of Directors:

Leonard Warner, President
Program Manager for the Hazardous Waste and Contaminated Sediments Group of WSP.

John Atherton, Vice President and Secretary

Susan Anderson, Treasurer
Susan has worked in New York City as a CPA since 1982, serving individuals, small companies, and non-profits.  Her love of hiking and the outdoors brought her to the Cold Spring–Beacon area in the 1970s where she developed a long-standing love for the Hudson River Valley that has been enriched by volunteering with Bannerman’s.

Barbara Gottlock
Retired educator who has co-authored six books on Hudson Valley history, including Bannerman Castle.

Michael TJ McCormack, AIA
Partner of the architecture firm Liscum McCormack VanVoorhis LLP.

John Lanc
Partner at Lanc & Tully Engineering and Surveying

Robert Doyle
Owned Absolute Auction and Realty in Pleasant Valley, New York. Robert now runs Hudson Views.

Virginia Palen Donovan
Co-owner of Riverwinds Gallery in Beacon, NY. and online.   Virginia is retired from IBM where she worked for over 35 years in programming, education, marketing, and management.

Advisory Council:

Frederick Osborn, III
Robert Slater
Kelly Ellenwood
Susan Pagones
Chereese Jervis-Hill
Thom Johnson
Dave Rocco


Wes Gottlock, Senior Tour Guide Coordinator
Molly Foley, Tour Guide Coordinator
Donna Blakemore, Garden Coordinator
Barbara Gottlock, Co-Garden Coordinator
John Antinori, Head Captain of the Estuary Steward
Laurie Clark, BCT Administrator, Exhibition Coordinator and Curator of the Bannerman Gallery
Joan Maldarelli, Bookkeeper
Mary Ann Glass, Gallery Staff
Johan Ayoob, Gallery Staff
Paul Kluckman – Island Steward

Website Photo Credit:

Scott Snell
John Morzen
Linda T. Hubbard
Neil Caplan
Laurie Clark
Rob Yasinsac
Thom Johnson
Russell Cusick


The rich history of Bannerman Castle and the beautiful scenery of Pollepel Island place will provide a wonderfully enriching day for the whole family.


Become a Bannerman Castle Trust member and receive a friendship card, discounts on Island tours, Bannerman merchandise, most events and much more!


Make a donation to the Bannerman Castle Trust to help preserve Bannerman Castle, stabilize the buildings, and maintain the grounds on Pollepel Island.